panyabanjoko

Poetry, stories and knitting

Spellbound II

on January 17, 2012

I’ve finished reading Spellbound and what an enjoyable read it was. Best book I’ve read of 2012 so far. I like when the baddy gets their comeuppance and the goody has a happy ending. A moralistic cautionary tale for women who fall for the chat-up line of married men. Remember there’s no need to buy the cow if they’re getting the milk for free! I also loved the way it started with a quote from Philip Larkin about parents F**king you up, brilliant but not an excuse for boys who  behaviour badly.

I’ve got Philip Pullman’s ‘The Good Man Jesus and the Scoundrel Christ’ to read next. I loved his Dark Materials trilogy (Northern lights, Subtle Knife & Amber Spyglass) and his ‘The Ruby in the Smoke’ and was it the ‘Tiger in the Well?’

I’m going to give myself a few days before starting this as I want to get Spellbound out of my head so I can fully appreciate my next read.

ps I’m on chapter 20 of my novel Marry me now…once I’ve worked up the courage I’ll share some extracts.

Leave a Reply

