panyabanjoko

Poetry, stories and knitting

Goodbye Gertrude

on January 14, 2012

This morning at 6.10am precisely I awoke with a strange feeling. I stretched my cold feet out under my duvet and to my horror I felt a limp Gertrude at the bottom of my bed. Gertrude had passed away. She has gone to wherever it is leaky hot water bottles go. I hear you scoff at my loss but let me tell you something old Gertrude, as I affectionately called her, was a true friend. She has been at my feet in cold and sub zero weather. Remember last year when temperatures plummeted to minus thirteen degrees, who was there for me? old Gerty. Who relieves my cramps every 28 days? Old Gerty.

Now Sting’s (formerly of the Police) song about ‘the bed’s too big without you’ resonates deeply within me. My bed is now an empty, meaningless space without Gertrude’s fluffy pink body to rest my cold toes upon. Never will my toes dance upon her warm body, never will I rest her gently upon my abdomen… never again are we to be together.

Gertrude R.I.P

2007-2012

R.I.P 2007-2012

4 responses to “Goodbye Gertrude

  1. anneholloway says:

    Don’t try and replace her, but wait until you encounter a different incarnation of Gerty, you would never be able to match the texture, the softness or her glorious hue…

    • panyabanjoko says:

      She was one of a kind…

      • We had two “Gerties” in our family. At least you were able to be with her at the end. One night, after our Gertie No.1 had spent a night with my daughter – she disappeared. We have hunted high and low, under the bed, behind the bed, and stripped the bed. Our conclusion is that someone came in the dead of night and seeing her beauty and warmth potential ….. kidnapped her. As yet we have received no ransom note. We live in hope that she may be reunited with us one day. Our other “Gertie” tries to console us and we love her dearly and vie for her company on cold nights but we cannot forget the one who is lost to us.

      • panyabanjoko says:

        The lateness of this reply demonstrates how deeply Gerties loss has affected me… and should not be taken as me being far too busy… out dancing, having a drink or two,,,watching my sex and the city box set, or even reading I capture the Castle by Dodie Smith. The memories still cut deep and brings so much sorrow!!! I understand your loss and if I ever see a stray Gertie I will be sure to let you know.

Leave a Reply

