panyabanjoko

Poetry, stories and knitting

Spellbound

on January 13, 2012

I’m reading ‘Spellbound’ by Jane Green and I’m totally engrossed in it. Every waking minute of every day is spent reading it or thinking about reading it. I haven’t had this feeling for a long time, the in-another-world-happy-feeling, that a good book makes you feel. I’m not sure what I will do when I’ve completed it. Perhaps cry!

I had been reading Jane Austen’s ‘Emma’ which really wasn’t doing it for me. I loved her ‘Pride and Prejudice’ but can’t get into Emma. What I have found it useful for is helping with my insomnia! One page of ‘Emma’ and I’m out like a light!!! Seriously it’s a great remedy. I think it’s probably one of those books that I’ll only ever get into if  I’m on a deserted island or something. Like William Golding’s ‘Lord of the Flies, which I did finally read and enjoyed but had to go to the countryside in Jamaica, (no TV or telephone) to really appreciate it.

I had tried to read a couple of Jane Green’s novels before but tossed them to one side I think one of them was ‘Straight Talking’. It bored the pants off me and because of that I had put Jenny Colgan and Marian Keyes at the top of my Chic Lit list. Now after reading Spellbound I think she really is truly Amazing and yes that is with a capital ‘A’.

I hope one day when I’ve got into the romatic fiction world someone will think my work is amazing too.

ps I’m now on chapter 12 of my novel ‘Marry Me’

Leave a Reply

