panyabanjoko

Poetry, stories and knitting

Knitting Matters to Me

on December 8, 2011

Here are some bits and bobs I’ve been knitting over the autumn. Knitting really matters to me. It’s a lovely way to relax. It’s an economical way of creating bespoke items for family and friends and its a nifty way of earning some pocket money too!

 

2 responses to “Knitting Matters to Me

  1. The O.C says:

    I love your work! I’ve wanted to learn how to knit for some time, how did you learn?

    • panyabanjoko says:

      I was taught the basics e.g how to cast on and how to knit using garter stitch by my mum when I was about 13years old. Because I liked knitting I taught myself other stitches such as stocking stitch, moss stitch and rib stitch etc. I then taught myself to read knitting patterns believe me it wasn’t easy! I had many a dropped stitch and once knitted a pair of gloves that would have easily fitted someone with gigantic hands it also had six fingers!!! I persevered and now I knit bespoke items for people. I taught myself to crotchet too. But with all of this I am never fully confident because I was self taught and on my long list of things to do one day is to perhaps learn how the professionals do it!

Leave a Reply

